Twitter is one of the best social media platforms to get instant updates of any news around the world and interact with your followers, funny memes, follow celebrities, breaking news and updates, and so on. However many times this micro-blogging medium becomes toxic because of internet trolls and abusive tweets. So we all need a little break from those toxic social media profiles sometimes for our mental health and peace. That’s why users go to temporarily deactivate a Twitter account or even permanently delete their profiles.
Deactivating Vs Deleting
It is important to know the difference between a deactivated account and a deleted account on Twitter. In a deactivation process, all your tweets and other profile information are hidden within a day of deactivation request. Your follower and other Twitter users are unable to follow your account or search for the account, including searches for historical tweets made by the account. You and anyone else will be restricted to use the deactivated account’s username or signing up for a new account using the deactivated account’s email address.
A deactivated Twitter account can be reactivated, which will bring back all of those old tweets, but only within 30 days. Keep in mind, if you’re temporarily deactivating your Twitter profile, you should reactivate it within 30 days.
The only way to delete a Twitter account is to leave it deactivated for 30 days. Once the account is deleted, all your tweets are deleted from Twitter servers permanently and lost all your followers. Now, anyone can use the username to create a new Twitter account, and you can use the same email address to sign up for a new one.
How To Deactivate Twitter Account
Follow the below simple steps and deactivate your Twitter account on browser and mobile app also.
Deactivate Twitter Account on Browser
If you’re on a computer or in a mobile browser, go to Twitter.com and log in to your account. To deactivate:
- Go to your profile and click the “More” item on the bottom-left of the screen
- Select “Settings and Privacy” and then choose “Your account”
- At the bottom of the list, you will find the “Deactivate your account” link
- Read the all information before you go to deactivate your Twitter account
- If you are ok with that click the read color “Deactivate” link at bottom of the page
- Enter your password and select Deactivate.
That’s all your Twitter account is deactivated temporarily.
Deactivate Twitter Account on Mobile App
- Tap on your profile photo in the top left corner of the screen
- Enter the Settings and Privacy Menu and tap Account
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap “Deactivate Your Account
- Type your password and tap Deactivate to confirm the request
Follow the same steps on both iOS and Android mobile apps and deactivate your Twitter profile easily. Here it’s a direct online link to Deactivate Twitter Account
What Happens When You Deactivate Twitter
When you deactivate your account, your name may show up in search bars but when they click on your profile, the page that loads will say that the “account is no longer available”. So that users can’t find your account, all your posts, tweets, likes, and comments disappear from the site for up to 30 days. This process can take a few minutes, or it can take a few days, depending on how your Twitter profile presence is.
How To Reactivate Twitter Account
Users can reactivate their Twitter account within 30 days of the deactivation request sent. So that they can recover their old tweets and followers list as it is. You will then receive an email letting you know your account is active again. If 30 days have passed, you won’t be able to recover your Twitter account and it will be deleted permanently. Twitter may retain some information on your deactivated account to ensure the safety and security of its platform and people using Twitter.
How To Delete Twitter Account
If you want to delete your Twitter account permanently, then the only and best way is to give a deactivation request and don’t log in again. Your Twitter account will be automatically deleted after 30 days. If you wish to use the same username and email in creating another account in the future, ensure to change the current username and email address in the live account. Before that download all your data from the Twitter server.